Make your own free website on Tripod.com
www.ComicBookCollectorsBlog.com

Welcome from
Michael D
Hamersky!

« August 2009 »
S M T W T F S
1
2 3 4 5 6 7 8
9 10 11 12 13 14 15
16 17 18 19 20 21 22
23 24 25 26 27 28 29
30 31
You are not logged in. Log in

Signed Comics
For Sale!

Entries by Topic
All topics  «
Comic Book Artists
Comic Book History
Comic Book Movies
Comic Book Writers
Comic Books - New
Comic Cons
eBay Info
Other Cons
Other Movie Genres
Other Non Comics Works
TV Shows

Want Powerful
Promotion & PR?
Ask MarketingTina!

Blog Tools
Edit your Blog
Build a Blog
RSS Feed
View Profile

Join Michael's
Facebook Network!

Want A Good
Book Or Graphic Novel?
Read Our Reviews!

Check Out Our
Our eBay Store!

Sunday, August 30, 2009
Zine Of Bronze #6 - For Fans Of Doc Savage!
Mood:  caffeinated
Topic: Other Non Comics Works

 

Click here to see our ENDING SOONEST Comics, Graphic Novels, Toys, Cards and Magazines for sale! 

   

Zine Of Bronze #6

 For Fans of The Man Of Bronze!

Click Here to see our NEWLY LISTED Comics, Graphic Novels, Toys, Fanzines and Prozines!

Above:  Jim Main @ SPACE 2009

 

A while back I became Facebook Friends with Jim Main...  

Who I knew had published some periodicals.  I wasn't aware of how many until he sent a package to me of just a few of them to read and possibly review here.  Currently there are 48 publications that he has published that are listed for sale in his online store!

The one I wanted to review here first was a zine on The Man Of Bronze.  Here are the items that this issue covers per Jim's listing:

Gorgeous full color covers by Tim Faurote and Alvaro Fernandois, articles by Tom Barnett(on Ham Brooks), Julian Puga V (on The Secrets of the U-Boats), Dennis Kininger (his on-going reviews of the Bantam reprints of the Doc Savage novels). Plus more regular features (Cover to Cover, and our letters section) and more great illustrations by Tim Faurote, John Lambert, Christian Diaz and Virginia Mills-Barfield!

OK, I'll take it from there...

I would have to agree with Jim that the covers are both very well illustrated!  The front cover by Tim Faurote is a natural one to use to get casual readers to look at it closer.

Upon doing so I found that this zine is doing what good zines should do.  That is, have a message from the Editor / Publisher, a table of contents, a letters page, text essays, and photos.  All that is here in this zine!

Of course the letters page will feature letters about previous issues, (which I have not seen).  So reading those could or should draw you in as a reader to possibly order the issue(s) the letter(s) talk about.

One of the essays was by Tom Barnett, who did a good job on explaining "Building A Literary Character: Ham Brooks".

The next feature focused on 'The Brand of The Werewolf' which intriqued me because it showed the covers of the Doc Savage comic books that were published by Marvel Comics, and that there was a history of The Werewolf that went back to the pulps that I wasn't aware of!  I had also missed the Bantam paperback in 1965 that reprinted that tale also.

Speaking about the Bantam Books... the next article was a revealing one by Dennis Kininger who reviewed several books from that series. Also an enjoyable and informative article in a 'review' format style.

There was also a 'Comic Book Review' by Dennis.  Which I liked seeing because it reviewed Marvel Two-In-One #21.  Being a Big Fan of The Thing from the Fantastic Four, I enjoyed reading about it in this zine, even though the reviewer didn't think much of the storyline in the comic book issue...!

The last article was by Julian Puga V, who wrote on 'The Secriet of the U-Boats'.  A good historical essay that kept my interest.

I would have to say in summary, that this issue of 'Zine Of Bronze' was a well edited magzine!   Even though I am NOT a big fan of Doc Savage, it was well crafted for even me, a casual Doc Savage reader, to enjoy.  Matter of fact, of all the items that Jim sent me, it was the first publication that I read, and have now reviewed... it is THAT Good!

Details on this issue as follows:

Cost of this issue is: $3.50 plus 1.50 shipping.
$5.00 per issue postpaid in the USA.  Personal checks only, with checks made out to Jim Main.  Jim's web site to order is at:   http://mainenterprises.ecrater.com/

Unfortunately we don't have back issues of Jim's Zine in our own online store at this time... However, Please check out our other new listings of comics, graphic novels, Comic Con exclusives and more pop culture items for sale in our online eBay Featured Store that our blogs are based on

Thanks again to all of YOU reading our current and archived blog posts!  We do blog daily on comic book creators, comic book reviews, and other pop culture news and events including some TV shows and theatrical films!  

~ Michael 

 

Now Celebrating the 11th Year On The Web!

"Hammering Out the Web
For You Since May 12th, 1998!"

Click Here to see 'Our Reviews posted at eBay! 

Note: If you breaking into or work in the comic book industry or other pop culture productions, you are welcome to email us press releases, news items, and updates that you feel would be of interest to our blog readers. Including YOUR own works!

To mail printed items to us for review, send to:

Make It So Marketing Inc
PO Box 130653
Carlsbad, CA 92013

   

Digg!

     

 

Thank You For Being One Of This Blog's

Site Meter
NOTE:  This blog post is written for the IE Browser standards. Netscape, Firefox and the others serve the page up differently. The screen display resolution is best seen at the setting of 1024 x 768.

All images and characters within this blog post are copyright and trademark their respective owners.

CONVENTION PHOTOS:  OK, as mentioned before in this Blog, I tease my wife about having to stop to take photos of every Wonder Woman costumed attendee!  Plus sometimes even getting in the photo myself!  So turnabout is fair play.... Here's Tina at the 2003 San Diego Comic Con International with Wonder Woman  AND Batman!

Click Here to see 'My World at eBay!

If you are a Facebook member and want to join my Facebook Network, feel free to send a 'friend request' to 'Michael D Hamersky'.

 

 


Posted by makeitsomarketing at 6:06 AM PDT
Updated: Sunday, August 30, 2009 6:17 AM PDT
Post Comment | Permalink

View Latest Entries